Why Financial Modeling Matters

Financial projections are the backbone of your business plan. They show investors, lenders, and partners that you understand your business economics and have a viable path to profitability.

Core Financial Statements

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Profit & Loss (P&L)

Shows your revenue, expenses, and profitability over time. Also called Income Statement.

Key Components:

  • Revenue (sales)
  • Cost of Goods Sold (COGS)
  • Gross Profit
  • Operating Expenses
  • Net Profit
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Cash Flow Statement

Tracks cash coming in and going out. Critical for understanding liquidity.

Sections:

  • Operating Activities
  • Investing Activities
  • Financing Activities
  • Net Cash Flow
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Balance Sheet

Snapshot of your assets, liabilities, and equity at a point in time.

Formula:

Assets = Liabilities + Equity

Building Your Revenue Model

Step 1: Define Revenue Streams

What are all the ways your business makes money?

  • Product sales
  • Service fees
  • Subscriptions
  • Licensing
  • Advertising

Step 2: Calculate Unit Economics

Example: Product Business

Units sold per month: 500

Price per unit: $50

Monthly Revenue: 500 × $50 = $25,000

Example: Subscription Business

Subscribers: 200

Monthly price: $29

MRR (Monthly Recurring Revenue): 200 × $29 = $5,800

ARR (Annual Recurring Revenue): $5,800 × 12 = $69,600

Step 3: Project Growth

How will revenue grow over time? Base your assumptions on:

  • Market size and demand
  • Sales and marketing capacity
  • Production/service capacity
  • Competitive dynamics
  • Historical growth rates (if existing business)

Understanding Costs

Cost of Goods Sold (COGS)

Direct costs to produce your product or deliver your service:

  • Raw materials
  • Direct labor
  • Manufacturing overhead
  • Packaging
  • Shipping/freight

Formula: COGS % = (COGS ÷ Revenue) × 100

Typical Range: 30-60%

Gross Margin

Gross Margin = Revenue - COGS

Example:

Revenue: $100,000

COGS: $45,000 (45%)

Gross Margin: $55,000 (55%)

Operating Expenses (OpEx)

Category Examples Typical %
Personnel Salaries, benefits, payroll taxes 20-30%
Marketing & Sales Advertising, events, commissions 10-20%
General & Admin Rent, insurance, legal, accounting 5-10%
Technology Software, equipment, maintenance 3-8%

Key Financial Metrics

Gross Margin %

Formula: (Revenue - COGS) ÷ Revenue × 100

What it tells you: Profit after direct costs

Net Margin %

Formula: Net Profit ÷ Revenue × 100

Benchmark: 10-20% is healthy

Break-Even Point

Formula: Fixed Costs ÷ (Price - Variable Cost per Unit)

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Cash Runway

Formula: Cash Balance ÷ Monthly Burn Rate

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3-Scenario Financial Modeling

Always create three scenarios to show range of outcomes:

Conservative (Worst Case)

  • Slower customer acquisition
  • Lower pricing
  • Higher costs
  • Use for planning and risk assessment

Base Case (Most Likely)

  • Realistic assumptions
  • Based on market research
  • Conservative growth
  • Use for primary projections

Optimistic (Best Case)

  • Faster growth
  • Higher conversion rates
  • Better pricing power
  • Use to show upside potential

Ready to Build Your Financial Model?

Use our interactive calculators to test your numbers and build confidence in your projections.

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